freshprincess.blogg.se

Exchange student in the USA 15/16

Dress code & Small group

Kategori: Utbytesår 15/16

Hello! 
Yesterday was a good morning because Simone drove us to school and I didn't had to get up until 7am. In the evening me and Grace went to our "small group" for the first time. Small group is a project from the church we're in and it's about meeting new people. We're in a group for teenagers and I found out that they all go in Angleton High School. We meet at the one of the leaders house and hade supper together and was just getting to know each other. We were only six "kids" and two adults so it was easy to talk and more relaxed than talking in school. 

Today (Thursday) I held a speech in my "professional communication" class and I think I did good. It was about introducing yourself with five important items. I brought my airplane ticket, a photo of my favorite Swedish rapper Linda Pira, a bag with Swedish Dalacarlia horses, a sock that says FRESH and my subway/bus card from Sweden. 

One thing that is different in school here is the dress code, (in my school at home I don't even have a dress code). I'm not a fan of this rules. You can't wear anything that is: the width of a dollar bill or more above the knee. No shirts without sleeves. That means no tank tops or spaghetti strap shirts. No head coverings, like hats, bandanas or sunglasses. (Unless it's for a religious reason). No yoga pants or jeans with holes above the knee, unless it's covered with another fabric underneath. That is not all of them tho.

Today when I went to the office in school to get a book, one of the secretaries told me that I have to cover the holes in my jeans. They are not even big, they are thinner than my fingers but I still had to take a piece of fabric to wear underneath. I'm not used to have these rules and I was quite angry that someone else has rules about what I wear. I understand that the school don't want people to dress in hot pants but showing your shoulders in a regular top... Come on!?!
But that's the rules so it's not much to do. Some people still wear clothes against the code but walking into the office in "the wrong" clothes is not so smart. 

Next week is homecoming and we went to Hobby Lobby this evening to get stuff to make our homecoming mums. More about that later. 

Now I have to catch some sleep because Simone isn't planning to drive us tomorrow, and the bus picks us up early (6:15).

G night // Fresh Princess in Texas 

The problem pants. 


The empty hallways when everybody is in class.
My new addiction: grapes.
Tostados in small group.
Todays school lunch: Buffalo chicken sandwich.



KOMMENTARER:

  • Katta säger:
    2015-09-05 | 10:17:45

    Åh du har ju homecoming, är så avis......

Kommentera inlägget här: